Vous êtes ici

The Board

The Northwest Territories Public Utilities Authority is an independent, quasi-judicial body of the Government of the Northwest Territories responsible for regulating public services in the territory.

It derives its authority from the Service Companies Act. You can download a copy of the Act in the Documents section of this website.

Organizational structure

A board of directors of no more than five people (one president and four members) may lead the Public Utilities Board. The President assumes the duties of Director General. He manages the activities of the Board and supervises its staff. The other members of the board of directors are part-time. The Minister responsible for the Public Service Companies Board appoints the members of the board of directors, on the recommendation of the firm, for a term of up to five years. The Office of the Utility Companies Authority is located in Hay River and has one full-time employee.

Members of the Board of Directors

  • Gordon Van Tighem President
  • Tina Gargan Vice-President
  • Myra Berrub Member
  • Danny Yakeleya Member
  • Joe Auge Member


Board employees

  • Doris Minoza, Secretary
  • Raj Retnanandan, consultant
  • Ayanna Ferdinand Catlyn, lawyer

Application and hearing process

The Utility Companies Board manages problems through an application and hearing process. Any organization or person seeking board approval on a specific topic must write and submit a written application outlining the orders. The application must contain all the documents and evidence necessary to enable the Board to assess its merits.